Tuesday, April 15, 2008

This is your introductory period.

This being my first blog I would just like to introduce myself as I am new to the blogger community. My name is Kayla…..middle name Jo. I hated it when I was younger. I thought mom named me after my Uncle Joe and I was so angry. Then I realized that I am the 7th generation in my family to have that middle name and that in itself is pretty damn cool…..for me at least.

I am 20 years old and about to turn 21 on May 26th. I work at a local dealership in Missouri called Joe Machens Toyota-Scion. I’m back in the service department where everyone goes to get their cars worked on. I mainly work with guys, but I couldn’t ask for a better bunch of people to work with. Honestly, they are all easy to get along with (for the most part), very humorous, and it seems like most of them care about each other and their well-being. It’s like a family that I see Monday through Friday and sometimes Saturdays.

I moved out March 1st, 2008 with my long-time boyfriend Eli and our two dogs Koda Bear (a mix of Lab and I believe a Shiba Inu) and Jada Girl (a pure-bred boxer). Those two are great, and they have so much fun. They especially like the dog park here in COMO and all the socializing they get there (although they just think it’s fun, not socializing!). Jada went for the first time last week (she was 12 weeks old at the time) and Eli threw her into the water to see if she could swim! Well, she came back up and doggie paddled as fast as she could to the shoreline then took off running to get herself dried off. Well, we know that she can swim, at least for a short distance. I have heard that boxers can’t swim because of how big and heavy their chests are, but if she’s really that willing to go into the water we can get her a life jacket (they look so cute on some dogs!).

For the past 20 years I have lived with my mother, who is a huge influence in my life. She and my dad divorced when I was 3 years old and it’s been tough for her, but she’s kept her cool and kept us alive, in a nice house, and without need. She’s worked looooong hours and even more than one job at a time and still managed to find time to spend with us. She is truly a marvel. Now that I’ve moved out I miss her like crazy, but I’m going to learn to live on my own for the first time (and with a guy……which I’ve never had experience living with before!).

I am working full-time right now but I would like to go back to college at least part-time to get my general education classes out of the way. I would like to go to college to be an Interior Designer but I would also like to learn more about Marine Biology , that has been a dream of mine since the sixth grade. We did a project in science class on endangered animals (which was great because I absolutely LOVE animals), so I did different projects on the white tiger and the manatee. After this project the manatee was turned into a favorite of mine and I was dedicated to saving it from being extinct or endangered.

I would have to say that is more than enough rambling on about me…..